Contact us on +91 89899 80066

What are the subjects in the IGCSE curriculum?

There are five subject groups in IGCSE with several subjects to choose from in each group. These include:

  • Group 1: Languages (First Language, Second Language, Foreign Language, etc.)

  • Group 2: Humanities and Social Sciences (Geography, English Literature, History, etc.)

  • Group 3: Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, etc.)

  • Group 4: Mathematics (Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, etc.)

  • Group 5: Creative, Technical and Vocational (Accounting, Business Studies, Computer Studies, Music, etc.)

For each subject, the certificate merely indicates the grades scored, and not pass or fail. Five scores of ‘C’ or higher indicates a student’s readiness to pursue +2 level qualifications, like the Class 12 CBSE, IB Diploma, Advanced Placement Diploma (US), etc.

What is the International Certificate of Education (ICE) that is awarded to some IGCSE students?

ICE is a prestigious award given only to the best performers of IGCSE. Instead of five papers needed to obtain IGCSE, if a student attempts and passes seven or more papers, he/she is awarded the ICE.

The seven subjects chosen must be as follows:

  • Two subjects from the language group

  • One from each of the other four groups

  • One more from any of the five groups.